East Asia Core Observatories Association (EACOA)
naoc naoj kasi asiaa
Home \ Fellowships \ Announcement 2017

EACOA Fellowships

Post-Doctoral Research Position Announcement: EACOA Fellowship 2017

The East Asian Core Observatories Association (EACOA) announces an opportunity for highly qualified individuals to apply for EACOA postdoctoral fellowships, starting in 2017, to conduct research in all branches of astronomy and astrophysics. The EACOA is an alliance of four major astronomical research institutions in East Asia dedicated to promoting regional research cooperation. Member institutes of the EACOA are: the National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Science (NAOC), the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ), Korean Astronomy and Space Science Institute (KASI), and Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASIAA).

The Fellowship is a full-time appointment with an initial term of three years and is extendable for an additional two years (for up to a total of 5 years). Successful candidates are expected to develop independent research programs as well as to integrate with the existing activities at the EACOA member institutes. During the period of the appointment, Fellows should be in residence in at least two EACOA member institutions of their choice with at least one year at each of these host institutes. Regardless of the Fellows’ resident institutes, they have equal opportunity to access all research facilities run by the EACOA member institutes, e.g. ALMA, LAMOST, Subaru Telescope, SMA, JCMT.

Applicants are asked to propose at least two prospective host institutions based on their research programs. As part of the application material, endorsement letters from respective host institutions are required. To foster a more collaborative research environment in East Asia communities and to balance the number of Fellows among the four institutions, applicants proposing NAOC as their host for the year 2017 will be given preferable consideration.

In case of uneven geographical distributions for recruited fellows, the EACOA Selection Committee will discuss with potential candidates to change his or her choice of Host Institution at the time of recruitment.

A list of the current EACOA fellows can be found at the EACOA Fellowship web page http://www.eacoa.net/fellowship.php

Please see EACOA web site at http://www.eacoa.net/job for detailed information. The EACOA Fellowship is open to applicants of any nationality, who have obtained their PhD in Astronomy or equivalent degree in related fields within 5 years prior to the start of the fellowship tenure. For the year 2017, a monthly stipend of US$5,000 will be paid as a fellowship award and relocation expenses will be provided by the EACOA through NAOC. Research funds and travel support will be provided by the host institutes.

Up to three EACOA Fellowships will be awarded in 2017. Applicants should submit their application documents and materials electronically as specified in the application instructions on the EACOA site. Applications must include letters of endorsement from the host scientists confirming the research project. Full applications must be submitted before or on 15 November 2016 (at 24:00 hour UT).

The EACOA institutes are actively committed to equal opportunity in employment.

    Email Address for Inquiries:
  • eacoafellowship_replace2@_nao.cas.cn
  • naoj.global_replace2@_gmail.com
  • eacoakasi_replace2@_kasi.re.kr
  • asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw