East Asia Core Observatories Association (EACOA)
naoc naoj kasi asiaa
Home \ Fellowships \ Announcement 2016

EACOA Fellowships

Post-Doctoral Research Position Announcement: EACOA Fellowship 2016 (Jul. 09, 2015)

The East Asian Core Observatories Association (EACOA) announces an opportunity for highly qualified individuals to apply for EACOA postdoctoral fellowships, starting in 2016, to conduct research in all branches of astronomy and astrophysics. The EACOA is an alliance of four major astronomical research institutions in East Asia dedicated to promoting regional research cooperation. Member institutes of the EACOA are: the National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Science (NAOC), the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ), Korean Astronomy and Space Science Institute (KASI), and Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASIAA). Successful candidates will have an initial appointment of three years, extendable for an additional two years (up to a total of 5 years), and are expected to develop independent research programs as well as to integrate with the existing activities at the EACOA member institutes. Fellows are expected to work full-time on their research programs, and to be in residence in at least two EACOA member Institutions during the period of the Fellowship appointment. The EACOA Fellows will have the opportunity to access all research facilities run by the EACOA member institutes, including the LAMOST, Subaru Telescope, ALMA, etc.

Please see http://www.eacoa.net/job for detailed information. The EACOA Fellowship is open to applicants of any nationality, who have obtained their PhD in Astronomy or equivalent degree in related fields within 5 years prior to the start of the fellowship tenure. For the year 2016, a monthly stipend of US$5,000 will be paid as a fellowship award and relocation expenses will be provided by the EACOA, through the NAOC. Research funds and travel support will be provided by the host institutes, and the amounts are negotiable.

Applications submitted before or on 15 November 2015 (at 24:00 hour UT) will receive full consideration.

Applicants should submit their application documents and materials electronically as specified in the application instructions. Applications must include letters of endorsement from the host scientists confirming the research project.

Up to three EACOA Fellowships will be awarded in 2016. The EACOA institutes are actively committed to equal opportunity in employment.

    Email Address for Inquiries:
  • eacoafellowship_replace2@_nao.cas.cn
  • naoj.global_replace2@_gmail.com
  • eacoakasi_replace2@_kasi.re.kr
  • asiaa_replace2@_asiaa.sinica.edu.tw